Classic Car Catalogue

24° Targa Florio

Targa Florio
28 May 1933
Piccolo circuito delle Madonie
7 laps x 71.85 km (44.65 mi) = 503.0 km (312.5 mi)


Use 'Shift' key to select multiple columns.
'Unlimited' entries and results:
No.   Driver: Car: Model: Engine:   Entrant: Result: Laps: Time:
1 Letterio Cucinotta Bugatti T37 1.5 S-4 L. Cucinotta nc 7 7h 51m 02.0s
2 Agostino Giardina Bugatti T37 1.5 S-4 A. Giardina dnf 1 fail.
3 V. Lo Bue Alfa Romeo 6C 1750 1.8 S-6 V. lo Bue dnf 5  
4 Renato Balestrero Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 R Balestrero 2nd 7 6h 55m 52.6s
5 Guglielmo Carraroli Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 Scuderia Ferrari 3rd 7 7h 07m 45.0s
6 Costantino Magistri Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 C. Magistri dnf 1 fail.
7 Giuseppe Virgilio Alfa Romeo 6C 1.8 S-6 G. Virgilio dnf 5 fail.
8 Antonio Brivio Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 Scuderia Ferrari 1st 7 6h 35m 06.2s
9 Remo D'Alessio Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 R. D'Alessio 5th 7 7h 34m 11.0s
10 Mario U. Borzacchini Alfa Romeo Monza 2.6 S-8 Scuderia Ferrari dnf 3 acc.
11 Lillo Napoli Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 L. Napoli dnf 5 fail.
12 Carlo Gazzabini Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 C. Gazzabini 4th 7 7h 21m 02.6s
13 Pietro Ghersi Alfa Romeo Monza 2.3 S-8 P. Ghersi dnf 4 fail.
14 Salvatore Casano Bugatti T35 2.0 S-8 G. Brucato dns    
14 Francesco Toia Bugatti T35 2.0 S-8 G. Brucato dnf 1 fail.
Fastest lap: Mario U. Borzacchini (Alfa Romeo) in 54m11s = 79.6 km/h (49.4 mph)
Winner's average speed: 76.4 km/h (47.5 mph)


Motor SportJuly 1933

1906. Cagno (Itala).
1907. Nzarro (Fiat).
1908. Trucco (Osotta).
1909. Ciuppa (S.P.A.).
1910. Gariolata (Franco).
1911. Ceirano (S.C.A.T.).
1912. Snipe (S.C.A.T.).
1913. Nazarro (Nazarro).
1914. Ceirano (S.C.A.T.).
1919. Boillot (Peugeot).
1920. Meregalli (Nazarro).
1921. Masetti (Fiat).
1922. Masetti (Mercedes).
1923. Sivoeci (Alfa Romeo).
1924. Werner (Mercedes).
1925. Constrantini (Bugatti).
1926. Constrantini (Bugatti).
1927. Materassi (Bugatti).
1928. Divo (Bugatti).
1929. Divo (Bugatti).
1930. Varzi (Alfa Romeo).
1931. Nuvolari (Alfa Romeo).
1932. Nuvolari (Alfa Romeo).
It is to be devoutly hoped that the 1933 Targa Florio race does not presage the gradual decline of the famous Sicilian event. From 1906 to the present day, with the exception of the War period and a few years before the War, the Targa Florio has held a premier place on the sporting calendar, ranking with the French Grand Prix as the two most important races of the season.
This year the race unaccountably failed to attract an official team of any make, and still further to reduce the prestige of the event only Borzacchini of all the first class drivers travelled to Sicily for the race. The reason for this lack of interest is difficult to find, for the race was as well organised as usual, attracted an enormous crowd, and the sum of £2,350 had been subscribed for prize money.
The weather was perfect when the cars were lined up at the start of the race on May 28th. There were 14 competitors, made up of 12 Alfa Romeos and 2 Bugattis, and driven by the following drivers : Alfa Romeo: Borzacchini, Brivio, Carraroli, Balestrero, Cucinotta, Dalessio, Gazzabini, Ghersi, Lobue, Magistri, Virigilio. Bugatti: Casano and Giardina.
The start was given by S. E. Manareo, Under Secretary of State to the Minister of War, and the cars were sent off on their long journey of seven laps of the 72 kilometres circuit, giving a total distance of 504 kilometres. At the end of the first lap, as was expected, Borzacchini was in the lead, followed by Brivio and Ghersi. The Targa Florio course is probably more severe than any other in the world and retirements were soon announced, Magistri (Alfa Romeo) dropping out on the first lap and Giardina halving the Bugatti hopes by withdrawing on the second.
Borzacchini (Alfa Romeo) continued to increase his lead, and at the end of the third lap the order was:
1933 Targa Florio Carraroli Alfa Romeo
A typical stretch of the Targa Florio course.
The competitor is Carraroli (Alfa Romeo) who finished third.
1. Borzacchini (Alfa Romeo), 2h. 43m.
2. Brivio (Alfa Romeo), 2h. 45m.
3. Ghersi (Alfa Romeo), 2h. 48m.
4. Carraroli (Alfa Romeo).
5. Balestrero (Alfa Romeo).
6. Gazzabini (Alfa Romeo).
7. Napoli (Alfa Romeo).
8. Dalessio (Alfa Romeo).
9. Lobue (Alfa Romeo).
10. Virgilio (Alfa Romeo).
11. Cucinotta (Alfa Romeo).
12. Casano (Bugatti).
The slightest error of judgment is sufficient to destroy all chances of success on the Targa Florio course, for the road is nearly always bordered by low walls or cut out of the side of a cliff. Consequently any car leaving the road is generally badly damaged and is not fit to continue. Such a temporary lapse overtook Borzacchini on the fourth lap near Collesano, and his retirement allowed Brivio to move up into the lead. Then Ghersi, who was lying second, had mechanical trouble with his Alfa Romeo and withdrew, his place being taken by Balestrero. From then on little change took place, and Brivio was finally flagged home first, having averaged 47.84 m.p.h., and finishing 24 minutes ahead of Balestrero.
1. Brivio (Alfa Romeo), 6h. 35m. 6s., 47.84 m.p.h.
2. Balestrero (Alfa Romeo), 6h. 59m. 52s.
3. Carraroli (Alfa Romeo), 7h. 7m. 45s.
4. Gazzabini (Alfa Romeo).
5. Dalessio (Alfa Romeo).